Skip to content Know Your Council

Bass Coast Shire

Contact Information


Bass Coast is located about 130 kilometres south-east of Melbourne and is predominantly a coastal municipality with a unique coastline complemented by a beautiful hinterland.

Bass Coast is one of the few Victorian municipalities whose two major industries are tourism and agriculture. Cattle and dairy farming are the area's agricultural backbone, with boutique farming such as venison and vineyards fast emerging. 

Bass Coast Shire has one of the highest growth rates in Victoria and 29% of the resident population is over the age of 60. During peak holiday periods, Bass Coast's population exceeds 60,000.

The Shire is visited by 35% of Melbourne's international visitors each year.

Bass Coast is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here

Victoria in Future Profile

Bass Coast - Victoria in Future 2016

Victoria in Future Profile

Bass Coast Aboriginal Community Profile (includes Aboriginal organisations)


Adams Estate, Almurta, Anderson, Archies Creek, Bass, Blackwood Forest, Cape Paterson, Cape Woolamai, Churchill Island, Corinella, Coronet Bay, Cowes, Dalyston, Dudley South, Glen Alvie, Glen Forbes, Grantville, Harmers Haven, Inverloch, Jam Jerrup, Kernot, Kilcunda, Kongwak, Krowera, Lance Creek, Lang Lang, Loch, Newhaven, Outtrim, Pioneer Bay, Pound Creek, Powlett River, Queensferry, Rhyll, Ryanston, San Remo, Silverleaves, Smiths Beach, St Clair, Summerlands, Sunderland Bay, Sunset Strip, Surf Beach, Tenby Point, The Gurdies, Ventnor, Wattle Bank, West Creek, Wimbleton Heights, Wonthaggi, Wonthaggi North, Woodleigh and Woolamai.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


Community Satisfaction

Bass Coast Shire Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results 2017

Annual Report

Bass Coast Shire Council Annual Report 2016/17 




Bass Coast Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 3 wards and 9 councillors.

Councillors are elected through preferential voting. Since 2008, all Victorian councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2016.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


9 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Bunurong - Cr Julian Brown

Bunurong - Cr Les Larke

Bunurong - Cr Brett Tessari - Mayor

Island - Cr Stephen Fullarton

Island - Cr Pamela Rothfield 

Island - Cr Michael Whelan

Western Port - Cr Clare Le Serve

Western Port - Cr Geoff Ellis

Western Port - Cr Bruce Kent - Deputy Mayor

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 32,825   
  • 2021 36,990  
  • 2026 40,952  
  • 2031 44,798  


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 70.954m
61.391m 59.873m 51.657m 47.002m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 68.193m
67.964m 72.650m 63.711m 59.373m
- Rates and Charges 50.090m
33.358m 37.251m 28.156m 31.812m
- VGC Grants 5.495m 5.544m 5.544m 5.481m 5.517m 5.106m 4.596m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Bass Coast Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance

Subscribe to newsletter