Skip to content Know Your Council

Contact Information


The City of Casey is 40km south east of Melbourne. It is Victoria's largest and fastest-growing municipality and the dominant growth area for south-eastern Melbourne.

Casey is also the third-fastest growing council in Australia behind the Gold Coast and Brisbane City Councils.

It has five distinct geographic regions stretching from the foothills of the Dandenong Ranges to the coastal villages of Western Port Bay. Urban development is concentrated in the northern part of the municipality.

The main industries include building construction, agriculture, and building structure services.

Casey is part of the Interface council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.

Victoria in Future 

Casey - Victoria in Future 2016 

Aboriginal Community Profile

Casey Aboriginal Community Profile (includes Aboriginal organisations) 


Beaconsfield, Berwick, Blind Bight, Cannons Creek, Clyde, Clyde North, Cranbourne, Cranbourne East, Cranbourne North, Cranbourne South, Cranbourne West, Devon Meadows, Doveton, Endeavour Hills, Eumemmerring, Fountain Gate, Hallam, Hampton Park, Harkaway, Junction Village, Lynbrook, Lyndhurst, Lysterfield South, Narre Warren, Narre Warren North, Narre Warren South, Pearcedale, Tooradin and Warneet.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Statewide Results 

Annual Report

City of Casey Annual Report 2017/18




Casey City Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 6 wards and 11 Councillors.

Councillors in the 1 single member wards are elected through preferential voting. Councillors in the 5 multi-member wards are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020.

The council's next independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


11 Councillors elected in October 2016.


Balla Balla - Cr Geoff Ablett

Edrington - Cr Susan Serey

Edrington - Cr Timothy Jackson - Deputy Mayor

Four Oaks - Cr Rosalie Crestani - Deputy Mayor

Four Oaks - Cr Milla Gilic

Mayfield - Cr Amanda Stapledon - Mayor

Mayfield - Cr Gary Rowe

River Gum - Cr Damien Rosario

River Gum - Cr Wayne Smith

Springfield - Cr Sam Aziz

Springfield - Cr Rex Flannery 



Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 302,079  
  • 2021 349,106  
  • 2026 395,934  
  • 2031 437,459  


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 302.090m 255.554m 237.728m 224.818m 210.327m 198.935m 203.501m 189.830m 164.459m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 541.200m 430.026m 279.949m 347.059m 286.287m 309.403m 247.343m 228.892m 205.412m
- Rates and Charges 212.682m 202.188m 190.918m 177.623m 163.795m 149.993m 137.358m 124.846m 112.274m
- VGC Grants 19.020m 17.650m 17.334m 17.451m 17.266m 16.342m 16.199m 15.453m 14.824m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Casey City's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance