Skip to content Know Your Council

Mount Alexander Shire

Contact Information


The Mount Alexander Shire, centred on Castlemaine and Maldon, is 120 kms north west of Melbourne.

It has a strong manufacturing and engineering base. The main industries are food processing and steel fabrication. The shire also offers extensive health services for the elderly and is the location of two prisons.

The main industries include meat and meat product manufacturing, agriculture, Industrial machinery and equipment manufacturing.

Mount Alexander is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.


Barfold, Baringhup, Baringhup West, Barkers Creek, Bradford, Campbells Creek, Campbelltown, Carisbrook, Castlemaine, Chewton, Chewton Bushlands, Drummond North, Eastville, Eddington, Elphinstone, Faraday, Franklinford, Fryerstown, Glenluce, Golden Point, Gower, Green Gully, Greenhill, Guildford, Harcourt, Harcourt North, Irishtown, Joyces Creek, Langley, Lockwood South, Maldon, Malmsbury, McKenzies Hill, Metcalfe, Metcalfe East, Moolort, Moonlight Flat, Muckleford, Muckleford South, Myrtle Creek, Neereman, Newstead, Nuggetty, Porcupine Flat, Ravenswood, Ravenswood South, Redesdale, Sandon, Shelbourne, Strangways, Strathlea, Sutton Grange, Taradale, Tarilta, Tarrengower, Vaughan, Walmer, Welshmans Reef, Werona, Yandoit Hills and Yapeen. 

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Mount Alexander Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results 2017 

Annual Report

Mount Alexander Shire Council Annual Report 2016/17 




Mount Alexander Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 5 wards and 7 Councillors. 

Councillors in the 4 single member wards are elected through preferential voting. Councillors in the 1 multi-member wards are elected through proportional representation voting.  Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. 

The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections. 

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


7 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Calder - Cr Anthony Cordy - Deputy Mayor

Castlemaine - Cr Dave Petrusma

Castlemaine - Cr Bronwen Machin - Mayor

Castlemaine - Cr Max Lesser

Coliban - Cr Christine Henderson

Loddon - Cr John Nieman

Tarrengower - Cr Stephen Gardner

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 18,239 
  • 2021 18,729 
  • 2026 19,301   
  • 2031 19,968   


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 32.059m 33.224m 28.956m 34.541m 35.573m 27.058m 23.642m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 31.126m 33.825m 29.729m 42.432m 37.689m 28.104m 23.685m
- Rates and Charges 20.807m
- VGC Grants 4.398m 4.345m 4.299m 4.011m 3.917m 3.829m 3.667m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Mount Alexander Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance

Subscribe to newsletter