Skip to content Know Your Council

Murrindindi Shire

Contact Information


The Shire of Murrindindi is located in the hills just north of outer metropolitan Melbourne.

It has a primarily rural economy revolving around agriculture and timber. About 48% of the area of the Shire is Crown land. Agricultural production in the shire is valued at about $28 million a year. Tourism is also prominent, particularly around Lake Eildon.

The main industries include agriculture, primary production (incorporating broad acre and intensive agriculture), log saw milling and timber dressing, electricity supply, tourism, light manufacturing, and the services sector.

Murrindini is part of the Small Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.


Acheron, Alexandra, Buxton, Castella, Cathkin, Caveat, Cheviot, Devils River, Dropmore, Eildon, Fawcett, Flowerdale, Ghin Ghin, Glenburn, Gobur, Gooram, Hazeldene, Highlands, Homewood, Kanumbra, Kerrisdale, Killingworth, Kinglake, Kinglake Central, Kinglake West, Koriella, Limestone, Maintongoon, Marysville, Merton, Molesworth, Murrindindi, Narbethong, Pheasant Creek, Rubicon, Ruffy, Strath Creek, Taggerty, Taylor Bay, Terip Terip, Thornton, Toolangi, Trawool, Woods Point, Yarck and Yea.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Statewide Results 2017

Annual Report

Murrindindi Shire Council Annual Report 2016/17 



Murrindindi Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 7 wards and 7 Councillors. 

Councillors are elected through preferential voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. 

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


7 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Cathedral - Cr Sandice McAulay - Mayor

Cheviot - Cr Rebecca Bowles

Eildon - Cr Jackie Ashe

King Parrot - Cr Eric Lording

Kinglake - Cr Leigh Dunscombe - Deputy Mayor

Koriella - Cr Charlotte Bisset

Red Gate - Cr Margaret Rae

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 13,758 
  • 2021 14,304 
  • 2026 14,939 
  • 2031 15,628 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 31.036m 30.030m 29.476m 33.426m 44.775m 52.352m 63.825m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 31.753m 35.289m 31.147m 39.774m 59.694m 57.552m 72.823m
- Rates and Charges 18.293m 16.868m 15.700m 14.615m 13.538m 12.482m 11.419m
- VGC Grants 4.268m
4.348m 4.253m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Murrindindi Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance

Subscribe to newsletter