Skip to content Know Your Council

Ararat Rural City

Contact Information


Ararat Rural City is a versatile primary production area famous for its premium viticulture and wine industry, quality merino wool, and cropping and manufacturing industries.

Ararat Rural City forms a 'gateway' to important tourism destinations such as the Grampians Ranges, Pyrenees Ranges, Mt Langi Ghiran, Mt Cole and Lake Bolac. Ararat (pop. 7,500) is the district retail hub.

Ararat is located 200 kilometres west of Melbourne on the Western Highway at the junction of several major highways.

Ararat is part of the Small Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.

Victoria in Future Profile

Ararat - Victoria in Future 2016 

Aboriginal Community Profile

Ararat Aboriginal Community Profile (includes Aboriginal organisations) 



Ararat, Armstrong, Ballyrogan, Bayindeen, Black Range, Bornes Hill, Buangor, Carranballac, Cathcart, Chatsworth, Crowlands, Denicull Creek, Dobie, Dunkeld, Dunneworthy, Elmhurst, Eversley, Glenlogie, Glenthompson, Great Western, Halls Gap, Lake Bolac, Langi Logan, Mafeking, Maroona, Middle Creek, Mininera, Mount Cole, Mount Cole Creek, Moyston, Narrapumelap South, Nerrin Nerrin, Norval, Pomonal, Pura Pura, Rhymney, Rocky Point, Rossbridge, Stavely, Stoneleigh, Streatham, Tatyoon, Warrak, Westmere, Wickliffe, Willaura, Woorndoo and Yalla-Y-Poora.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Ararat Rural City Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results

Annual Report

Ararat Rural City Council Annual Report 2018/19


Ararat Rural City Council is an unsubdivided municipality consisting of 7 councillors.

Councillors are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is October 2020.

The council's next independent Electoral Representation Review is scheduled to be conducted prior to the 2016 elections.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


7 Councillors elected in October 2016.


Unsubdivided - Cr Gwenda Allgood 

Unsubdivided - Cr Bill Braithwaite - Deputy Mayor

Unsubdivided - Cr Fay Hull

Unsubdivided - Cr Jo Armstrong - Mayor

Unsubdivided - Cr Peter Beales 

Unsubdivided - Cr Frank Deutsch

Unsubdivided - Cr David Pettman

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 10,952  
  • 2021 10,706  
  • 2026 10,618  
  • 2031 10,614 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 30.185m 29.213m 28.205m 26.441m 25.922m 23.222m 26.932m 31.545m 22.457m 20.288m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 34.082m 32.801m 32.853m 26.343m 29.904m 24.055m 28.769m 31.949m 23.953m 19.937m
- Rates and Charges 16.908m 16.512m 15.908m 15.266m 14.572m 13.799m 12.946m 11.836m 11.059m 10.542m
- VGC Grants 5.879m 5.492m 5.580m 5.454m 5.307m 5.263m 5.210m 5.124m 4.948m 4.605m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Ararat Rural City's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance