Skip to content Know Your Council

Campaspe Shire

Contact Information


Campaspe Shire is located 180 km directly north of Melbourne on both the Murray and Goulburn Rivers. It is a popular tourist and retirement destination.

The main industries include dairying; tourism; food processing; cereal cropping; tomatoes; sheep/wool; aquaculture; floriculture; vegetables; feed lotting; viticulture; beef cattle and rice.

Campaspe is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.  

Victoria in Future 

Campaspe - Victoria in Future 2016 

Aboriginal Community Profile

Campaspe Aboriginal Community Profile (includes Aboriginal organisations) 


Ballendella, Bamawm, Bamawm Extension, Burnewang, Campaspe West, Carag Carag, Colbinabbin, Cornella, Corop, Creek View, Diggora, Dingee, Drummartin, Echuca, Echuca Village, Echuca West, Elmore, Fairy Dell, Girgarre, Gunbower, Harston, Kanyapella, Kotta, Kow Swamp, Koyuga, Ky Valley, Ky West, Kyabram, Lake Cooper, Lancaster, Lockington, McEvoys, Milloo, Mitiamo, Moora, Mount Scobie, Murchison, Muskerry, Myola, Nanneella, Patho, Piavella, Pine Grove, Redcastle, Rochester, Roslynmead, Runnymede, Rushworth, Simmie, Stanhope, Strathallan, Taripta, Tennyson, Terrick Terrick East, Terrick Terrick West, The Settlement, Timmering, Tongala, Toolleen, Torrumbarry, Wanalta, Waranga, Waranga Shores, Wharparilla, Whroo, Wyuna, Wyuna East and Yambuna.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction 

Campaspe Shire Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results

Annual Report

Campaspe Shire Council Annual Report 2019/20


For further information regarding Local Government elections visit:


9 Councillors elected in October 2020.


Echuca - Cr Robert Amos

Echuca - Cr Tony Marwood

Echuca - Cr Christine Weller - Mayor

Kyabram-Deakin - Cr Daniel Mackerell

Kyabram-Deakin - Cr John Zobec

Kyabram-Deakin - Cr Colleen Gates

Rochester - Cr Paul Jarman

Waranga - Cr Adrian Weston 

Western - Cr Leanne Pentreath - Deputy Mayor

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 36,814  
  • 2021 37,371  
  • 2026 38,055  
  • 2031 38,786  


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2019-20 2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 76.860m 73.618m 71.466m 73.735m 73.439m 72.130m 67.799m 67.449m 70.004m 61.898m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 86.643m
- Rates and Charges 43.845m 42.037m 40.718m 39.355m 37.891m 35.914m 33.912m 31.706m 29.788m 27.696m
- VGC Grants 12.119m 11.639m 11.082m 11.076m 11.170m 11.285m 11.287m 10.822m 10.762m 9.715m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
6.668m 5.795m 4.627m 5.560m 8.225m 3.280m 10.251m 13.726m 12.212m 5.122m
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Campaspe Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance