Skip to content Know Your Council

Gannawarra Shire

Contact Information


Gannawarra Shire is located beside the Murray River, in the Loddon Murray region of Victoria.

It is three hours' drive from Melbourne. The major regional centres of Bendigo, Echuca and Swan Hill are each about one hour away by road.

Gannawarra Shire is a diverse agricultural region. Its economic base is primarily agriculture, with some important concentrations of manufacturing.

Agricultural activities include cropping, dairying, grazing, horticulture and viticulture. The main industries include agriculture, and dairy product manufacturing.

Gannawarra is part of the Small Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.

Victoria in Future 

Gannawarra - Victoria in Future 2016 

Aboriginal Community Profile

Gannawarra Aboriginal Community Profile (includes Aboriginal organisations)


Appin, Appin Park, Appin South, Bael Bael, Beauchamp, Benjeroop, Budgerum East, Burkes Bridge, Cannie, Capels Crossing, Cohuna, Cullen, Daltons Bridge, Dingwall, Fairley, Gannawarra, Gonn Crossing, Gredgwin, Horfield, Kangaroo Lake, Keely, Kerang, Kerang East, Koondrook, Koroop, Lake Charm, Lake Meran, Lalbert, Leitchville, Macorna, Macorna North, McMillans, Mead, Meatian, Meering West, Milnes Bridge, Mincha West, Murrabit, Murrabit West, Myall, Mystic Park, Ninyeunook, Normanville, Oakvale, Pine View, Quambatook, Reedy Lake, Sandhill Lake, Teal Point, Titybong, Towaninny, Tragowel, Wandella, Wee Wee Rup and Westby.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Statewide Results

Annual Report

Gannawarra Shire Council Annual Report 2019/20


For further information regarding Local Government elections visit:


7 Councillors elected in October 2020.

Avoca - Cr Charlie Gillingham - Mayor

Murray - Cr Ross Stanton

Patchell - Cr Kelvin Burt

Patchell - Cr Travis Collier

Patchell - Cr Jane Ogden

Yarran - Cr Keith Link

Yarran - Cr Garner Smith - Deputy Mayor

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 9,919  
  • 2021 9,497  
  • 2026 9,119  
  • 2031 8,773  


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2019-20 2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 29.699m 26.847m 24.953m 25.378m 24.180m 23.962m 23.134m 21.361m 20.308m 21.632m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 32.793m 29.416m 28.775m 31.191m 24.835m 29.101m 23.493m 27.948m 24.948m
- Rates and Charges 13.011m 12.661m 12.205m 11.914m 11.540m 10.992m 10.438m 9.969m 9.545m 8.907m
- VGC Grants 5.795m 5.600m 5.220m 5.065m 5.024m 5.098m 5.072m 5.081m 4.835m 4.574m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Gannawarra Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance