Skip to content Know Your Council

Glenelg Shire

Contact Information


The Glenelg Shire is nestled in Victoria's south west corner.

Located around a deep-water port, Portland is the major centre in the shire and home to one of only two aluminium smelters in Victoria.

Natural attractions include the Glenelg River flowing and the surrounding national parks.

The shire's economy is based around service industries, timber production, grazing and manufacturing.

The main industries include basic non-ferrous metal manufacturing, agriculture, marine fishing.

Glenelg is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here

Victoria in Future 

Glenelg - Victoria in Future 2016 

Aboriginal Community Profile

Glenelg Aboriginal Community Profile (includes Aboriginal organisations)


Allestree, Bahgallah, Bessiebelle, Bolwarra, Branxholme, Breakaway Creek, Brimboal, Byaduk, Cape Bridgewater, Carapook, Cashmore, Casterton, Chetwynd, Clover Flat, Condah, Corndale, Dartmoor, Dergholm, Digby, Drik Drik, Drumborg, Dunrobin, Dutton Way, Gorae, Gorae West, Grassdale, Greenwald, Heathmere, Henty, Heywood, Homerton, Hotspur, Killara, Lake Condah, Lake Mundi, Lindsay, Lyons, Merino, Milltown, Mount Eckersley, Mount Richmond, Mumbannar, Muntham, Myamyn, Nangeela, Nareen, Narrawong, Nelson, Paschendale, Portland, Portland North, Portland West, Sandford, Strathdownie, Tahara, Tahara Bridge, Tahara West, Tyrendarra, Wallacedale, Wando Bridge, Wando Vale, Warrock and Winnap.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Statewide Results

Annual Report

Glenelg Shire Council Annual Report 2018/19


Glenelg Shire Council is an unsubdivided municipality consisting of 7 Councillors.

Councillors are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


7 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Unsubdivided - Cr Robert Halliday

Unsubdivided - Cr Anita Rank - Mayor

Unsubdivided - Cr Karen Stephens

Unsubdivided - Cr Geoff White

Unsubdivided - Cr Gilbert Wilson

Unsubdivided - Cr Crissy Hawker - Deputy Mayor

Unsubdivided - Cr Alistair McDonald

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 19,042  
  • 2021 18,733  
  • 2026 18,487  
  • 2031 18,267  


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 46.337m 45.533m 51.057m 54.387m 44.863m 45.828m 60.757m 43.809m 37.955m 36.215m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 50.455m 49.276m 52.395m 47.656m 53.686m 47.979m 48.079m 48.854m 41.722m 39.261m
- Rates and Charges 26.459m 23.669m 25.554m 22.983m 23.070m 23.840m 22.424m 19.791m 19.698m 18.975m
- VGC Grants 8.187m 7.612m 7.312m 7.273m 7.119m 7.191m 7.038m 7.093m 6.666m 6.157m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Glenelg Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance