Skip to content Know Your Council

Golden Plains Shire

Contact Information


The Golden Plains Shire is predominately rural, with a number of small township servicing local communities between Ballarat and Geelong.

The Shire is the fifth fastest growing municipality in regional Victoria; in 2014-15 had a growth rate of 2.0%. Many Golden Plains residents work in Ballarat or Geelong.

The Shire’s economic base is provided through agriculture, retailing, construction and manufacturing.  Agriculture is responsible for $144 million worth of output annually and employs 25.6% of the Shire’s workforce.

The main industries include agriculture (wool and grain growing, intensive poultry and pig farming), construction and wine manufacturing.

Golden Plains is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here

Victoria in Future 

Golden Plains - Victoria in Future 2016 

Aboriginal Community Profile

Golden Plains Aboriginal Community Profile (includes Aboriginal organisations)


Anakie, Bamganie, Bannockburn, Barunah Park, Batesford, Berringa, Berrybank, Cambrian Hill, Cape Clear, Corindhap, Cressy, Dereel, Durdidwarrah, Durham Lead, Enfield, Garibaldi, Gheringhap, Grenville, Haddon, Happy Valley, Hesse, Illabarook, Inverleigh, Lethbridge, Linton, Mannibadar, Maude, Meredith, Morrisons, Mount Bute, Mount Mercer, Murgheboluc, Napoleons, Newtown, Nintingbool, Piggoreet, Pitfield, Pittong, Rokewood, Rokewood Junction, Ross Creek, Russells Bridge, Scarsdale, She Oaks, Shelford, Smythes Creek, Smythesdale, Springdallah, Staffordshire Reef, Steiglitz, Stonehaven, Sutherlands Creek, Teesdale, Wallinduc, Werneth and Wingeel.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Golden Plains Shire Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Results 

Annual Report

Golden Plains Shire Council Annual Report 2018/19


For further information regarding Local Government elections visit:


7 Councillors elected in October 2020.

Unsubdivided - Cr Brett Cunningham

Unsubdivided - Cr Helena Kirby - Mayor

Unsubdivided - Cr Gavin Gamble

Unsubdivided - Cr Ian Getsom - Deputy Mayor

Unsubdivided - Cr Clayton Whitfield

Unsubdivided - Cr Les Rowe

Unsubdivided - Cr Owen Sharkey

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 21,216  
  • 2021 23,644  
  • 2026 26,254  
  • 2031 28,964  


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2019-20 2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 39.726m 38.283m 37.257m 38.560m 36.881m 39.363m 31.202m 27.758m 28.012m 25.585m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 45.179m 43.734m 42.934m 42.690m 37.421m 40.932m 32.793m 33.607m 32.300m 28.400m
- Rates and Charges 24.007m 23.032m 21.518m 20.796m 19.788m 18.283m 16.716m 15.422m 13.833m 12.441m
- VGC Grants 5.963m 5.759m 5.405m 5.181m 5.133m 5.185m 5.139m 5.050m 4.867m 4.672m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Golden Plains Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance