Skip to content Know Your Council

Latrobe City

Contact Information


Latrobe City is located 135 km east of Melbourne. It is the principal service centre for the Gippsland region and includes the regional headquarters for significant government and private organisations, and education centres. The Latrobe Valley generates 85% of Victoria's electricity, from its large reserves of brown coal.

Other major industries include timber processing, and the manufacturing of paper products as well as the provision of services to the Gippsland region. Latrobe has a young population, with 45% of residents aged under 35 – of these 28% are under 10.

Latrobe is part of the Regional City council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.


Balook, Boola, Boolarra, Boolarra South, Budgeree, Callignee, Churchill, Cowwarr, Darlimurla, Delburn, Driffield, Flynn, Flynns Creek, Glengarry, Glengarry North, Glengarry West, Grand Ridge, Hazelwood, Hazelwood North, Hazelwood South, Hernes Oak, Jeeralang, Jeeralang Junction, Jumbuk, Koornalla, Loy Yang, Maryvale, Mid Valley, Mirboo, Moe, Moe South, Moondarra, Morwell, Mount Tassie, Narracan, Newborough, Tanjil South, Toongabbie, Traralgon, Traralgon East, Traralgon South, Tyers, Yallourn, Yallourn North, Yinnar and Yinnar South.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Statewide Results 2017 

Annual Report

Latrobe Shire Council Annual Report 2016/17 




Latrobe City Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 4 wards and 9 Councillors. 

Councillors are elected through preferential voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2016.

The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


9 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Central - Cr Graeme Middlemiss - Mayor

Central - Cr Alan McFarlane

East - Cr Dale Harriman

East - Cr Kellie O'Callaghan 

East - Cr Dan Clancey

East - Cr Darren Howe - Deputy Mayor

South - Cr Darrell White

West - Cr Sharon Gibson

West - Cr Bradley Law

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 73,646 
  • 2021 75,038 
  • 2026 77,775 
  • 2031 81,222 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 114.413m 117.374m 111.15m 105.590m 107.322m 96.816m 92.463m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 126.182m 134.379m 114.758m 112.584m 111.377m 109.551m 104.522m
- Rates and Charges 72.491m 69.606m 66.355m 62.637m 58.762m 54.547m 50.727m
- VGC Grants 11.430m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Latrobe City's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance

Subscribe to newsletter