Skip to content Know Your Council

Loddon Shire

Contact Information


Loddon Shire is located 175 kms north west of Melbourne. Agriculture is the main activity, with traditional produce including fat lambs, fine wool, dairy, poultry, pigs and cereal cropping. Recently more intensive forms of agriculture and horticulture have developed - including wine grapes, tomato growing, olives, oil seeds, pulses, and fodder crops, particularly in the irrigated areas in the north of the Shire and along the Loddon River.

The municipality is characterised by a number of small towns dispersed throughout the area. Wineries and historic and natural attractions complement agricultural activity. The main industries include agriculture, other food manufacturing, flour mill and cereal food manufacturing.

Loddon is part of the Small Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.


Appin South, Arnold, Arnold West, Auchmore, Barraport, Barraport West, Bealiba, Bears Lagoon, Berrimal, Boort, Borung, Brenanah, Bridgewater, Bridgewater North, Bridgewater on London, Buckrabanyule, Burkes Flat, Calivil, Campbells Forest, Canary Island, Catumnal, Cochranes Creek, Coonooer Bridge, Derby, Dingee, Dunolly, Durham Ox, Eastville, Eddington, Emu, Fentons Creek, Fernihurst, Fiery Flat, Gladfield, Glenalbyn, Glenloth East, Goldsborough, Gowar East, Gredgwin, Horfield, Inglewood, Inkerman, Jarklin, Jungaburra, Kamarooka, Kamarooka North, Kingower, Kinypanial, Korong Vale, Kurraca, Kurraca West, Kurting, Laanecoorie, Lake Marmal, Lake Meran, Leaghur, Leichardt, Leitchville, Llanelly, Loddon Vale, Logan, Macorna, Marong, McIntyre, Meering West, Milloo, Mincha, Minmindie, Mitiamo, Moliagul, Mologa, Murphys Creek, Mysia, Newbridge, Nine Mile, Painswick, Pompapiel, Powlett Plains, Prairie, Pyramid Hill, Raywood, Rheola, Richmond Plains, Salisbury West, Sebastian, Serpentine, Shelbourne, Skinners Flat, Slaty Creek, Sylvaterre, Tandarra, Tarnagulla, Terrappee, Terrick Terrick, Terrick Terrick East, Waanyarra, Wedderburn, Wedderburn Junction, Wehla, Woodstock On Loddon, Woodstock West, Woolshed Flat, Woosang, Wychitella, Wychitella North, Yando, Yarraberb, Yarrawalla and Yeungroon East.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Loddon Shire Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results

Annual Report

Loddon Shire Council Annual Report 2017/18


Loddon Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 5 wards and 5 Councillors.

Councillors in the 5 single member wards are elected through preferential voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020.

The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


5 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Boort - Cr Neil Beattie 

Inglewood - Cr Colleen Condliffe

Tarnagulla - Cr Geoff Curnow

Terrick - Cr Cheryl McKinnon - Mayor

Wedderburn - Cr Gavan Holt

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 7,268 
  • 2021 7,064 
  • 2026 6,864 
  • 2031 6,710 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 33.721m 28.281m 26.510m 26.454m 26.395m 45.339m 25.023m 24.983m 21.351m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 32.968m 32.788m 26.298m 31.826m 22.556m 43.632m 38.845m 33.977m 21.484m
- Rates and Charges 10.446m 10.103m 9.743m 9.172m 8.652m 8.157m 7.732m 7.232m 6.885m
- VGC Grants 8.220m 7.961m 7.898m 7.721m 7.531m 6.995m 6.827m 6.622m 6.174m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Loddon Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance