Skip to content Know Your Council

Mansfield Shire

Contact Information


Mansfield Shire is located about 180 kms north east of Melbourne. The main town is Mansfield. The surrounding smaller settlements only have small numbers of permanent residents but swell considerably during holidays. Natural attractions include Mount Buller, Mount Stirling, parts of Lake Eildon and Alpine National Parks and the Great Dividing Range.

The Alpine Resort areas of Mount Buller and Mount Stirling are wholly surrounded but excluded from the municipal district. A significant part of the municipality is Crown land. The main industries are tourism, farming (seed, sheep and cattle), light industry, light manufacturing, related timber industries and retail farming. 

Mansfield is part of the Small Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here


Ancona, Barjarg, Barwite, Bonnie Doon, Boorolite, Bridge Creek, Delatite, Gaffneys Creek, Goughs Bay, Howes Creek, Howqua, Howqua Hills, Howqua Inlet, Jamieson, Kevington, Lake Eildon, Nillahcootie, Piries, Sawmill Settlement, Tolmie, Woodfield and Woods Point.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Mansfield Shire Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results

Annual Report

Mansfield Shire Council Annual Report 2018/19


Mansfield Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 4 wards and 5 Councillors.

Councillors in the 3 single member wards are elected through preferential voting. Councillors in the 1 multi-member wards are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


5 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Bonnie Doon - Cr Paul Sladdin 

Jamieson - Cr Harry Westendorp 

Mansfield - Cr Peter Olver - Deputy Mayor

Mansfield - Cr Paul Volkering

Tolmie - Cr Marg Attley - Mayor

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 8,325 
  • 2021 8,719 
  • 2026 9,140
  • 2031 9,595 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 19.028m 18.921m 17.892m 18.235m 18.596m 18.108m 18.783m 18.083m 20.477m 15.258m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 21.476m 21.095m 22.255m 18.185m 21.693m 18.552m 19.894m 22.213m 26.236m 20.008m
- Rates and Charges 13.695m 13.094m 12.615m 12.146m 11.640m 11.187m 10.681m 9.885m 9.123m 8.522m
- VGC Grants 2.846m 2.758m 2.775m 2.792m 2.785m 2.779m 2.637m 2.641m 2.552m 2.440m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Mansfield Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance