Skip to content Know Your Council

Melbourne City

Contact Information


Melbourne is the capital city of Victoria, and Australia’s second-largest city. It includes the central city as well as Melbourne’s innermost suburbs, each with their own distinctive character, including different businesses, facilities, open spaces, dwellings and communities. It is the seat of the Victorian Government and the home of many local, national and international companies, peak bodies, and government and non-government agencies.

The population is made up of people of all ages and from many different cultures. Residents include young professionals, international students and older couples. More than 900,000 visitors also seek out the cultural, business, education, work and lifestyle opportunities the city offers each day.

Melbourne is part of the Metropolitan council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.


Carlton, Carlton North, Docklands, East Melbourne, Flemington, Hotham Hill, Kensington, Melbourne, Melbourne West, North Melbourne, Parkville, Port Melbourne, South Yarra and Southbank.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Statewide Results

Annual Report

City of Melbourne Annual Report 2018/19


Melbourne City is an unsubdivided municipality consisting of an elected Lord Mayor and Deputy and 9 councillors.

Since 2008, all Victorian councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. 

The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


Leadership Team and 9 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Leadership Team - Cr Sally Capp -  Lord Mayor 

Leadership Team - Cr Arron Wood -  Deputy Lord Mayor 

Unsubdivided - Cr Rohan Leppert

Unsubdivided - Cr Kevin Louey

Unsubdivided - Cr Cathy Oke

Unsubdivided - Cr Jackie Watts

Unsubdivided - Cr Nicolas Frances Gilley 

Unsubdivided - Cr Philip Le Liu

Unsubdivided - Cr Nicolas Reece

Unsubdivided - Cr Beverley Pinder

Unsubdivided - Cr Susan Riley

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 135,726 
  • 2021 177,010 
  • 2026 206,544 
  • 2031 229,765 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 648.667m 625.284m 602.840m 580.571m 568.327m 559.381m 570.007m 525.915m 471.359m 418.656m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 700.722m 659.752m 705.249m 639.748m 629.181m 591.722m 602.023m 560.461m 508.465m 453.668m
- Rates and Charges 286.584m 271.273m 262.105m 243.433m 230.919m 213.837m 203.576m 199.557m 192.804m 180.670m
- VGC Grants 4.050m 3.496m 3.261m 3.139m 3.062m 2.871m 2.618m 2.545m 2.401m 2.208m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Melbourne City's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance