Skip to content Know Your Council

Mildura Rural City

Contact Information


Mildura is a growing regional centre on the banks of the Murray River in north western Victoria.

It includes a mixture of irrigated and dryland farming. Fruit and vegetable production are the most significant industries in Mildura. More than 80% of Victoria's grapes and much of Victoria's citrus fruit is produced in the region. Mildura's temperate climate attracts many local and interstate visitors.

The main industries include agriculture, air and space transport, beverage and malt manufacturing, food drink and tobacco wholesaling.

Mildura is part of the Regional City council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.


Big Desert, Birdwoodton, Boinka, Cabarita, Cardross, Carina, Carwarp, Colignan, Cowangie, Cullulleraine, Hattah, Iraak, Irymple, Koorlong, Kulwin, Lindsay Point, Linga, Merbein, Merbein South, Merbein West, Meringur, Merrinee, Mildura, Mittyack, Murray-Sunset, Murrayville, Nangiloc, Neds Corner, Nichols Point, Ouyen, Panitya, Patchewollock, Red Cliffs, Sunnycliffs, Tempy, Torrita, Tutye, Underbool, Walpeup, Wargan, Werrimull and Yelta.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Statewide Results

Annual Report

Mildura Rural City Council Annual Report 2018/19


Mildura Rural City Council is an unsubdivided municipality consisting of 9 Councillors. 

Councillors are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. 

The council's next independent Electoral Representation Review is scheduled to be conducted prior to the 2028 elections.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


9 Councillors elected in october 2016.

Unsubdivided - Cr Greg Brown

Unsubdivided - Cr Helen Healy

Unsubdivided - Cr Mark Eckel

Unsubdivided - Cr Glenn Milne 

Unsubdivided - Cr Gavin Sedgemen

Unsubdivided - Cr Anthony Cirillo

Unsubdivided - Cr Simon Clemence - Mayor

Unsubdivided - Cr Jason Modica - Deputy Mayor

Unsubdivided - Cr Min Poole

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 53,356
  • 2021 55,257
  • 2026 57,331 
  • 2031 59,439 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 99.625m 102.674m 105.071m 90.306m 86.916m 89.316m 91.956m 89.633m 81.891m 81.200m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 123.665m 123.173m 122.380m 99.773m 113.111m 94.072m 104.970m 97.567m 88.443m 83.568m
- Rates and Charges 70.219m 66.918m 64.860m 62.046m 59.370m 56.078m 52.709m 48.734m 45.258m 42.961m
- VGC Grants 15.243m 14.457m 13.683m 13.466m 13.198m 12.784m 12.180m 11.854m 11.332m 10.534m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Mildura Rural City's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance