Skip to content Know Your Council

Mitchell Shire

Contact Information


Mitchell Shire is a fast-growing municipality located along the Hume Freeway and Northern Highway, about one hour north of Melbourne.

Its residents derive their employment from both Melbourne metropolitan and local sources. The local economy is rural in nature, although the Puckapunyal Military Base is a large employer.

The main industries include agriculture, food manufacturing, paper and paper products, machinery and equipment wholesaling.

Mitchell is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here


Avenel, Beveridge, Broadford, Bylands, Clonbinane, Dysart, Emu Flat, Flowerdale, Forbes, Glenaroua, Glenhope, Glenhope East, Heathcote Junction, Heathcote South, High Camp, Highlands, Hilldene, Kilmore, Kilmore East, Kobyboyn, Mangalore, Mia Mia, Moranding, Northwood, Nulla Vale, Puckapunyal, Pyalong, Reedy Creek, Seymour, Sugarloaf Creek, Sunday Creek, Tallarook, Tarcombe, Tooborac, Trawool, Tyaak, Upper Plenty, Wallan, Wandong, Waterford Park, Whiteheads Creek and Willowmavin. For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.


Community Satisfaction

Mitchell Shire Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results 2017 

Annual Report

Mitchell Shire Council Annual Report 2016/17 





Mitchell Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 3 wards and 9 Councillors.

Councillors are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. 

The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


9 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Central - Cr David Atkinson - Deputy Mayor

Central - Cr Bob Humm

Central - Cr Annie Goble

North - Cr Bill Chisholm - Mayor

North - Cr Rhonda Sanderson

North - Cr Fiona Stevens

South - Cr Bob Cornish

South - Cr Rob Eldridge

South - Cr David Lowe

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 39,920 
  • 2021 47,075 
  • 2026 62,808 
  • 2031 81,550 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 57.452m 54.962m 56.448m 51.388m 50.603m 43.889m 37.967m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 64.733m 69.852m 58.972m 63.309m 71.303m 44.523m 42.072m
- Rates and Charges 36.593m
- VGC Grants 6.578m 6.387m 6.273m 6.119m 6.071m 5.758m 5.491m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Mitchell Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance

Subscribe to newsletter