Skip to content Know Your Council

Contact Information


The City of Monash is located 20km south east of Melbourne's central business district.

It is culturally diverse, with 37% of its residents coming from more than 30 countries. Population growth is slowing and the profile is aging. Monash has a range of commercial activity and shopping centres, like Glen Waverley, Oakleigh and Mount Waverley. The city also has a large industrial area and research institutions, like Monash University and the CSIRO.

The main industries include machinery and equipment wholesaling, other chemical product manufacturing, printing and services to printing, motor vehicle and part manufacturing. 

Monash is part of the Metropolitan council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here


Ashwood, Burwood, Chadstone, Clayton, Glen Waverely, Hughesdale, Huntingdale, Mount Waverley, Mulgrave, Notting Hill, Oakleigh, Oakleigh East, Oakleigh South, Pinewood, Syndal and Wheelers Hill.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES

Community Satisfaction

City of Monash Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results

Annual Report

City of Monash Annual Report 2017/18


Monash City Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 4 wards and 11 Councillors. 

Councillors are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. 

The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections. 

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


11 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Glen Waverley - Cr Geoff Lake

Glen Waverley - Cr Lynnette Saloumi

Mount Waverley - Cr Brian Little 

Mount Waverley - Cr Rebecca Paterson 

Mount Waverley - Cr Mt Pang Tsoi - Deputy Mayor

Mulgrave - Cr Robert Davies

Mulgrave - Cr Paul Klisaris

Mulgrave - Cr Shane McCluskey 

Oakleigh - Cr Theo Zographos

Oakleigh - Cr Josh Fergeus

Oakleigh - Cr Stuart James - Mayor

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 189,591 
  • 2021 199,837 
  • 2026 207,568 
  • 2031 215,992 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 168.937m 160.726m 152.491m 152.871m 152.832m 154.873m 162.494m 144.228m 135.002m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 185.855m 183.986m 174.131m 169.973m 171.061m 154.565m 157.744m 143.781m 144.716m
- Rates and Charges 116.012m 112.922m 108.948m 101.220m 94.153m 87.983m 81.860m 76.431m 71.490m
- VGC Grants 5.062m 4.878m 4.874m 4.888m 4.893m 4.694m 4.598m 4.430m 4.173m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Monash City's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance