Skip to content Know Your Council

Moorabool Shire

Contact Information


Moorabool Shire is a semi-rural municipality between Melbourne and Ballarat.

The main towns are Bacchus Marsh (population 16,000 - 45 km west of the Melbourne CBD) and Ballan (2,660 - 70 km west of the city). About 40% of residents work in Melbourne. A significant number also work in Ballarat.

The main industries include agriculture, dairy product manufacturing, construction material mining, beverage and malt manufacturing.

Moorabool is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here


Bacchus Marsh, Ballan, Balliang, Balliang East, Barkstead, Barrys Reef, Beremboke, Blackwood, Blakeville, Bolwarrah, Bullarook, Bullarto South, Bunding, Bungal, Bungaree, Buninyong, Cargerie, Clarendon, Claretown, Clarkes Hill, Coimadai, Colbrook, Dales Creek, Darley, Dunnstown, Durham Lead, Elaine, Fiskville, Glen Park, Glenmore, Gordon, Greendale, Grenville, Hopetoun Park, Ingliston, Korobeit, Korweinguboora, Lal Lal, Leigh Creek, Lerderderg, Long Forest, Maddingley, Meredith, Merrimu, Millbrook, Mollongghip, Morrisons, Mount Doran, Mount Egerton, Mount Wallace, Myrniong, Navigators, Parwan, Pentland Hills, Pootilla, Rowsley, Scotsburn, Spargo Creek, Springbank, Trentham, Wallace, Warrenheip, Wattle Flat and Yendon. 

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES


Moorabool Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 4 wards and 7 Councillors. 

Councillors in the 3 single member wards are elected through preferential voting. Councillors in the 1 multi-member wards are elected through proportional representation voting. 

Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections. 

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


7 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Central Moorabool - Cr Paul Tatchell 

East Moorabool - Cr Tonia Dudzik

East Moorabool - Cr David Edwards - Mayor

East Moorabool - Cr Jarrod Bingham

East Moorabool - Cr John Keogh

West Moorabool - Cr Tom Sullivan

Woodlands - Cr Lawry Borgelt

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 32,126 
  • 2021 36,132 
  • 2026 41,052 
  • 2031 46,124 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 48.206m 46.161m 45.297m 42.749m 41.819m 41.416m 43.610m 43.036m 39.670m 36.660m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 60.775m 53.189m 59.014m 46.780m 49.271m 40.192m 46.723m 48.571m 43.250m 34.752m
- Rates and Charges 32.722m 32.359m 30.987m 29.331m 27.633m 26.018m 24.162m 22.643m 21.003m 19.509m
- VGC Grants 6.487m 6.071m 5.883m 5.816m 5.729m 5.673m 5.578m 5.571m 5.267m 4.927m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Moorabool Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance