Skip to content Know Your Council

Mornington Peninsula Shire

Contact Information


The Mornington Peninsula Shire is a boot-shaped promotory separating Port Phillip and Western Port Bays, over 40 kms to the south east of Melbourne. 

It is almost surrounded by the sea, with coastal boundaries of over 190 kilometres. It is a mixture of urban areas, resort towns, tourist development and rural land. The Peninsula is one of the major holiday and retirement areas for Melbourne. It includes the industrial and port area of Hastings, as well as natural attractions like Cape Schanck and Point Nepean National Park.

The main industries include iron and steel manufacturing, building construction.

Mornington Peninsula is part of the Interface council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.


Arthurs Seat, Balnarring, Balnarring Beach, Baxter, Bittern, Blairgowrie, Boneo, Cape Schanck, Crib Point, Dromana, Fingal, Flinders, Hastings, HMAS Cerberus, Kunyung, Main Ridge, McCrae, Merricks, Merricks Beach, Merricks North, Moorooduc, Mornington, Mount Eliza, Mount Martha, Pearcedale, Point Leo, Portsea, Red Hill, Red Hill South, Rosebud, Rosebud West, Rye, Safety Beach, Shoreham, Somers, Somerville, Sorrento, St Andrews Beach, Tootgarook, Tuerong and Tyabb.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Mornington Peninsula Shire Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results

Annual Report

Mornington Peninsula Shire Council Annual Report 2018/19


Mornington Peninsula Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 6 wards and 11 councillors.

Councillors are elected through preferential voting.

Since 2008, all Victorian councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020.

The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


11 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Briars - Cr Bev Colomb 

Briars - Cr Rosie Clark 

Briars - Cr Sam Hearn - Mayor

Cerberus - Cr Kate Roper - Deputy Mayor

Nepean - Cr Hugh Fraser

Nepean - Cr Bryan Payne

Red Hill - Cr David Gill 

Seawinds - Cr Antonella Celi

Seawinds - Cr Simon Brooks

Seawinds - Cr Frank Martin

Watson - Cr Julie Edge

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 156,696 
  • 2021 164,389 
  • 2026 172,559 
  • 2031 181,839 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 209.397m 198.659m 189.510m 193.618m 184.754m 178.044m 177.357m 157.781m 140.404m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 231.856m 225.284m 215.311m 212.576m 188.138m 183.082m 177.274m 163.771m 153.517m
- Rates and Charges 158.142m 152.941m 147.190m 144.027m 132.280m 122.784m 115.374m 104.627m 97.127m
- VGC Grants 5.787m 6.101m 6.439m 6.522m 6.634m 6.227m 6.101m 5.507m 5.060m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
4.778m 6.325m
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Mornington Peninsula Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance