Skip to content Know Your Council

South Gippsland Shire

Contact Information


South Gippsland is an important beef production and dairying area.

Other activities include horticulture, forestry, fishing, boutique food and wine, retail trade, manufacturing and tourism. The western coast of the shire is also a popular holiday and retirement area. A major physical feature in South Gippsland is Wilsons Promontory. 

The main industries include agriculture, dairy product manufacturing. 

South Gippsland is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here. 


Agnes, Allambee Reserve, Allambee South, Arawata, Baromi, Bena, Bennison, Berrys Creek, Binginwarri, Boolarong, Boolarra, Boolarra South, Boorool, Buffalo, Darlimurla, Delburn, Dollar, Dumbalk, Dumbalk North, Fairbank, Fish Creek, Foster, Foster North, Gunyah, Hallston, Hazel Park, Hedley, Hoddle, Inverloch, Jeetho, Jumbunna, Kardella, Kardella South, Kongwak, Koonwarra, Koorooman, Korumburra, Korumburra South, Krowera, Lang Lang, Leongatha, Leongatha North, Leongatha South, Limonite, Loch, Mardan, Meeniyan, Middle Tarwin, Mirboo, Mirboo East, Mirboo North, Mount Best, Mount Eccles, Mount Eccles South, Mountain View, Moyarra, Nerrena, Nyora, Outtrim, Poowong, Poowong East, Poowong North, Port Franklin, Port Welshpool, Pound Creek, Ranceby, Ruby, Sandy Point, Stony Creek, Strzelecki, Tarwin, Tarwin Lower, Thorpdale, Thorpdale South, Tidal River, Toora, Toora North, Trida, Turtons Creek, Venus Bay, Walkerville, Walkerville South, Waratah Bay, Welshpool, Whitelaw, Wild Dog Valley, Wilsons Promontory, Wonga, Wonyip, Woorarra West and Yanakie. 

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Statewide Survey Results

Annual Report

South Gippsland Shire Council Annual Report 2017/2018


South Gippsland Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 3 wards and 9 Councillors.

Councillors are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term.

The councillors of the South Gippsland Shire council were dismissed by the Local Government (South Gippsland Shire Council) Act 2019, on 22 June 2019. A panel of 3 administrators have been appointed to constitute the council. Councillors will be elected at the next general election in October 2021. 

The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.



Ms Julie Eisenbise - Chairperson

Mr Christian Zahra

Mr Rick Brown

Coastal Promontory - Vacant 

Coastal Promontory - Vacant

Coastal Promontory - Vacant

Strzelecki - Vacant

Strzelecki - Vacant

Strzelecki - Vacant

Tarwin Valley - Vacant

Tarwin Valley - Vacant

Tarwin Valley - Vacant

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 27,751 
  • 2021 28,478 
  • 2026 29,611 
  • 2031 30,677 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 61.871m 60.506m 58.946m 56.244m 56.792m 57.310m 54.081m 44.228m 40.012m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 69.166m 73.366m 63.180m 66.226m 54.850m 59.069m 56.223m 48.115m 45.750m
- Rates and Charges 40.968m 40.005m 35.583m 35.795m 33.711m 31.375m 29.562m 27.802m 25.534m
- VGC Grants 9.147m 8.802m 8.885m 8.537m 8.346m 7.916m 7.859m 7.601m 7.006m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View South Gippsland Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance