Skip to content Know Your Council

Surf Coast Shire

Contact Information


Surf Coast Shire is between 75 and 125 kilometres south west of the Melbourne GPO, and between 12 and 60 kilometres south west of Geelong.

The Shire has grown rapidly, with Torquay/Jan Juc averaging around 5% annual increase in resident population. It is a popular tourist and surfing area with strong connections to Geelong. These service industries make a substantial contribution to the local economy, and the popular Great Ocean Road attracts many visitors.

Other important industries include agriculture, tourism, electricity supply, building construction.

Surf Coast is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here.  


Aireys Inlet, Anglesea, Bambra, Barrabool, Bellbrae, Bells Beach, Benwerrin, Big Hill, Birregurra, Boonah, Breamlea, Buckley, Connewarre, Deans Marsh, Eastern View, Fairhaven, Freshwater Creek, Gherang, Gnarwarre, Inverleigh, Jan Juc, Lorne, Modewarre, Moggs Creek, Moriac, Mount Duneed, Mount Moriac, Ombersley, Paraparap, Pennyroyal, Torquay, Wensleydale, Winchelsea, Winchelsea South and Wurdiboluc.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Surf Coast Shire Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results

Annual Report

Surf Coast Shire Council Annual Report 2018/19


Surf Coast Shire Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 4 wards and 9 Councillors. 

Councillors are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. 

The council's independent Electoral Representation Review was conducted prior to the 2012 elections. 

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


9 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Anglesea - Cr Margot Smith

Anglesea - Cr Tony Revell

Lorne - Cr Clive Goldsworthy - Deputy Mayor

Torquay - Cr David Bell

Torquay - Cr Rose Hodge  - Mayor

Torquay - Cr Brian McKiterick 

Torquay - Cr Martin Duke

Winchelsea - Cr James McIntyre

Winchelsea - Cr Heather Wellington

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 29,386 
  • 2021 32,312
  • 2026 35,930 
  • 2031 39,577 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 80.103m 67.880m 65.982m 60.076m 56.552m 60.655m 53.629m 56.643m 47.248m 45.540m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 85.414m 79.474m 74.346m 67.225m 65.742m 60.426m 58.653m 60.362m 54.354m 48.768m
- Rates and Charges 52.285m 49.632m 47.849m 45.636m 42.984m 41.554m 37.761m 35.684m 33.678m 30.392m
- VGC Grants 4.350m 4.088m 3.701m 3.620m 3.647m 3.571m 3.423m 3.296m 3.089m 2.759m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Surf Coast Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance