Skip to content Know Your Council

Swan Hill Rural City

Contact Information


Swan Hill is an agricultural area about 4 hours drive North-West of Melbourne.

The area includes both dryland farming areas in the west and irrigated areas in the east. The Swan Hill township services a wide catchment, including areas into New South Wales. It is also a popular tourist destination.

The main industry is agriculture.

Swan Hill is part of the Large Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here 


Annuello, Bannerton, Beauchamp, Beverford, Bolton, Boundary Bend, Bulga, Castle Donnington, Chillingollah, Chinangin, Chinkapook, Cocamba, Fish Point, Gerahmin, Goschen, Gowanford, Happy Valley, Kenley, Kooloonong, Kunat, Lake Boga, Lake Powell, Liparoo, Manangatang, Meatian, Miralie, Murnungin, Murrawee, Murraydale, Narrung, Natya, Nowie, Nyah, Nyah West, Nyrraby, Pental Island, Piangil, Pira, Polisbet, Robinvale, Speewa, Swan Hill, Swan Hill West, Tol Tol, Towan, Tresco, Tresco West, Tudor, Turoar, Tyntynder, Tyntynder South, Tyrrell, Ultima, Ultima East, Vinifera, Waitchie, Wandown, Wemen, Winlaton, Winnambool, Wood Wood, Woorinen, Woorinen North and Woorinen South.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Swan Hill Rural City Council Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Results

Annual Report

Swan Hill Rural City Council Annual Report 2018/19


Swan Hill Rural City Council is a subdivided municipality consisting of 4 wards and 7 councillors.

Councillors in the 3 single member wards are elected through preferential voting. Councillors in the 1 multi-member wards are elected through proportional representation voting.

Since 2008, all Victorian councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020.

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
isit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


7 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Central - Cr Chris Jeffery - Deputy Mayor

Central - Cr Lea Johnson

Central - Cr Bill Moar - Mayor

Central - Cr Ann Young 

Lakes - Cr Les McPhee

Murray-Mallee - Cr Nicole May

Robinvale - Cr Jade Benham

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 20,394 
  • 2021 20,437 
  • 2026 20,555 
  • 2031 20,708 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2018-19 2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 44.743m 43.973m 47.072m 49.517m 47.756m 47.765m 47.474m 48.030m 44.997m 44.807m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 51.155m 50.228m 53.582m 51.784m 54.650m 49.607m 52.296m 52.095m 45.080m 43.400m
- Rates and Charges 27.691m 26.703m 25.852m 25.037m 24.178m 23.054m 22.011m 20.895m 19.540m 18.848m
- VGC Grants 6.803m 6.411m 6.211m 6.161m 6.173m 6.175m 5.931m 5.892m 5.745m 5.371m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Swan Hill Rural City's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance