Skip to content Know Your Council

Towong Shire

Contact Information


Towong Shire is a pristine rural and relatively unpopulated area.

The economy of the shire is based around primary production, particularly agriculture and forestry.

There are many small towns in the municipality, such as Corryong and Tallangatta, that service these industries. 

Towong is part of the Small Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here


Bellbridge, Berringama, Bethanga, Biggara, Bullioh, Bungil, Burrowyne, Colac Colac, Corryong, Cudgewa, Dartmouth, Eskdale, Georges Creek, Granya, Guys Forest, Huon, Jarvis Creek, Koetong, Lucyvale, Mitta Mitta, Mount Alfred, Nariel Valley, Old Tallangatta, Pine Mountain, Shelley, Talgarno, Tallandoon, Tallangatta, Tallangatta East, Tallangatta South, Tallangatta Valley, Thologolong, Thowgla Valley, Tintaldra, Tom Groggin, Towong, Towong Lower and Walwa. 

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Statewide Results

Annual Report

Towong Shire Council Annual Report 2018/19 


Towong Shire Council is an unsubdivided municipality consisting of 5 Councillors. 

Councillors are elected through proportional representation voting. 

Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. The council's next independent Electoral Representation Review is scheduled to be conducted prior to the 2028 elections. 

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


5 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Unsubdivided - Cr Aaron Scales

Unsubdivided - Cr David Wortmann - Mayor 

Unsubdivided - Cr Andrew Whitehead - Deputy Mayor 

Unsubdivided - Cr Jennifer Star

Unsubdivided - Cr Peter Tolsher

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 5,747 
  • 2021 5,657 
  • 2026 5,578 
  • 2031 5,503 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 13.566m 12.902m 12.915m 13.251m 14.726m 12.666m 15.660m 12.431m 12.394m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 18.709m 19.885m 14.211m 18.862m 15.084m 15.174m 13.810m 13.885m 12.929m
- Rates and Charges 8.344m 7.771m 7.481m 7.042m 6.597m 6.229m 5.858m 5.485m 5.037m
- VGC Grants 4.200m 3.682m 3.549m 3.646m 3.600m 3.589m 3.617m 3.451m 3.253m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View Towong Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance