Skip to content Know Your Council

West Wimmera Shire

Contact Information


West Wimmera lies in western Victoria on the South Australian border, about half way between Melbourne and Adelaide.

The economy of the shire is dominated by agricultural production, particularly wheat, sheep and vegetables.

The area also boasts a large variety of natural environments, including the Big Desert Wilderness Park, the Little Desert National Park and about 3,000 wetlands.

West Wimmera is part of the Small Shire council grouping and can be compared with similar councils. More information on council groupings can be found here


Apsley, Benayeo, Big Desert, Bringalbert, Broughton, Charam, Chetwynd, Connewirrecoo, Dergholm, Dorodong, Douglas, Edenhope, Goroke, Grass Flat, Gymbowen, Harrow, Kadnook, Kaniva, Karnak, Langkoop, Lawloit, Lillimur, Miga Lake, Minimay, Miram, Mitre, Neuarpurr, Nurcoung, Ozenkadnook, Patyah, Peronne, Poolaijelo, Powers Creek, Serviceton, Tarrayoukyan, Telopea Downs, Ullswater and Wombelano.

For a detailed map showing shire boundaries and locality names, visit VICNAMES.

Community Satisfaction

Local Government Community Satisfaction Survey Statewide Results

Annual Report

West Wimmera Shire Council Annual Report 2017/2018


West Wimmera Shire Council is an unsubdivided municipality consisting of 5 Councillors. 

Councillors are elected through proportional representation voting. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a four year term. The next general election is in October 2020. 

The council's next independent Electoral Representation Review is scheduled to be conducted prior to the 2028 elections. 

Visit the Guide for more information on Council Elections.
Visit the Victorian Electoral Commission for more elections details.


5 Councillors elected in October 2016.

Unsubdivided - Cr Bruce Meyer - Mayor

Unsubdivided - Cr Trevor Domaschenz

Unsubdivided - Cr Richard Hicks

Unsubdivided - Cr Tom Houlihan

Unsubdivided - Cr Jodie Pretlove 

Population data

Estimated resident population. Source: Victoria in Future 2016 - Population and Household Projections to 2031

  • 2016 3,811
  • 2021 3,471 
  • 2026 3,210 
  • 2031 2,988 


Source: Victoria Grants Commission.
The figures in the bottom two rows of the table show combined one-off and ongoing funding received by council from both the Federal and State Governments. It is important to note that this amount can change significantly from year to year as individual government funding programs change and natural events such as fires and floods occur.

Data shows the amount allocated in respect of the relevant financial year. In some years, that amount will vary from the payments received that year, as a result of the Commonwealth "bringing forward" some payments.

  2017-18 2016-17 2015-16 2014-15 2013-14 2012-13 2011-12 2010-11 2009-10
Recurrent Expenditure ($) 32.269m 24.882m 18.146m 19.682m 19.155m 17.440m 17.659m 15.349m 15.012m
Recurrent Revenue ($) 31.820m 28.462m 17.474m 21.208m 16.888m 18.817m 19.646m 16.610m 14.736m
- Rates and Charges 7.239m 7.001m 6.804m 6.360m 6.02m 5.720m 4.952m 4.488m 4.159m
- VGC Grants 5.092m 4.898m 4.859m 4.950m 4.960m 4.953m 4.847m 4.682m 4.456m
Non-Recurrent Government Grants
Recurrent Government Grants

Check council performance

View West Wimmera Shire's performance across a wide range of service areas

View Performance